73 Pots Of Money: The 2027 School Funding Guide
The PE and sport premium can't buy a single plank of a playground pirate ship. This bonus episode works through five shopping lists, playgrounds, buildings, technology, PE and sport, and maths and science, and for every pot of money asks what the funder is trying to achieve, how much there is, which schools can apply, and what to highlight when you apply.
The playground
The PE and sport premium cannot fund capital. DfE's guidance (updated 24 September 2026) lists "fixed playground equipment", trim trails, active mile tracks and multi-use games areas as capital expenditure it must not pay for. Devolved formula capital is the capital route: "A fixed sum of £4,000 per institution, plus £11.25 per weighted pupil", allocated to individual schools "to spend on capital projects". Learning through Landscapes' Local School Nature Grants give up to £500 of outdoor learning equipment plus training to schools in England, Scotland and Wales. National Lottery Awards for All England (£300 to £20,000) funds schools only where the project "mainly benefits the wider community", and the Wolfson Foundation's special schools programme lists "Playgrounds and play equipment, including sensory play" as not eligible.
The building
Trusts with 5 or more schools and at least 3,000 pupils receive school condition allocations; smaller trusts, voluntary aided bodies and sixth-form colleges bid to the Condition Improvement Fund. The Wolfson Foundation funds state-funded secondary schools £15,000 to £100,000 for buildings and equipment in subjects including science, computing and design and technology; its next round is expected in spring 2027. Great British Energy's solar partnership is adding 100 schools, with a 150-school pilot; the announcement describes no application route.
Technology
Connect the Classroom (wifi) and Schools Gigabit Broadband (fibre) are paid from a £325 million connectivity budget to 2030. Schools do not apply: "Eligible schools will be contacted directly." We found no national cash grant for school laptops open in 2027 on any funder's own page.
PE and sport
£6,240 plus £10 per pupil is the 2026 to 2027 PE and sport premium for schools with 17 or more eligible pupils, paid in one payment as "transitional funding" and to be spent by 31 July 2027. In a written answer on 17 July 2026 the DfE said it is "investing over £1 billion in PE and school sport over three years, including £530 million for the new PE and School Sport Partnerships Network": support such as coaching, swimming and opening facilities rather than a cash grant. Independent schools (other than non-maintained special schools) do not receive the premium.
Maths and science
Maths Hubs fund ten days' release for a Primary Mastery Specialist in year one, and 7.5 days a year for two years for a Secondary Mastery Specialist. The Royal Society's Partnership Grants give up to £3,000 (final 2026 deadline 30 November); STEM partner involvement and the investigation are "double weighted during the judging process". CREST Engage gives £350 plus a fee voucher to state-funded schools meeting one of three criteria, and closes at 5pm on 20 October 2026.
Special and independent schools
Special schools have routes others don't: Wolfson's special schools capital programme (minimum £25,000, usually £40,000 to £75,000) and BBC Children in Need, which doesn't fund mainstream schools, academies or PRUs but accepts project applications from a special school that is a registered charity. Independent schools are excluded from the PE and sport premium, Wolfson's secondary programme and CREST Engage, and for many trusts the funder's page simply doesn't say: ask first. Some funders, such as the Asda Foundation's Young Futures Fund, exclude schools but fund a PTA or Friends group.
School Funding Guide 2027: the first two entries, free
The full guide has 88 funding routes in 12 categories, each with the funder's intention, the money available, which school types can apply and what to highlight. Here are two. Sign up to the free newsletter to unlock the rest at the full Funding Guide 2027.
PE and sport premium for primary schools Ending
- Intention
- To improve PE, sport and physical activity in primary schools in a way that lasts.
- Total pot
- not published on the guidance page
- Award
- 2026 to 2027: schools with 17 or more eligible pupils receive £6240 plus £10 per pupil; schools with 16 or fewer eligible pupils receive £390 per pupil. Based on pupils in years 1 to 6 (pupils aged 5 to 10 where no year groups) from the January 2026 census.
- Match funding
- not applicable (no application; grant is paid automatically)
- Who applies
- No application. DfE pays academies and free schools; local authorities pass funding to maintained schools
- When
- Annual. 2026 to 2027 payments: local authorities 30 October 2026, academies and free schools 9 November 2026, non-maintained special schools 18 December 2026; new-to-eligible schools paid in February 2027. Spend before 31 July 2027.
School types
- Mainstream primary Yes
- Mainstream secondary No
- Special Conditional
- Independent No
- Academies and free schools Yes
- AP and PRUs Yes
Mainstream primary: yes (most schools with primary-age pupils); Special: conditional: eligible where pupils are aged 5 to 10 (guidance gives some special schools as an example of schools without year groups); non-maintained special schools receive it directly; Academies and free schools: yes (academies and free schools paid directly by DfE; each school in a MAT gets its own allocation); AP and PRUs: yes (maintained PRUs and hospital schools are paid via the local authority; alternative provision academies listed in conditions of grant)
What to highlight when applying
- There is nothing to apply for: check your allocation, then plan spend against the 5 key areas, prioritising CPD for all staff.
- Do not spend it on capital items (for example MUGAs, active mile tracks, trim trails, fixed playground equipment) or on staff salaries and PPA cover.
- Spend it in full before 31 July 2027; it cannot be rolled over and you must not pay in advance for next year's services or subscriptions.
- Complete the digital expenditure reporting and assurance form and publish required information on your website.
- Top-up swimming and water safety lessons for pupils who miss national curriculum requirements, including transport and teacher training, are allowed; core curriculum swimming is not.
Rate status: 2026 to 2027 is a transitional year paid in one instalment; the premium is being replaced by the PE and School Sport Partnerships Network
Note: DfE guidance (updated 24 Sep 2026) calls 2026-27 "transitional funding". Parliament written answer UIN 16974 (17 Jul 2026): "over £1 billion in PE and school sport over three years, including £530 million for the new PE and School Sport Partnerships Network". Independent schools (other than non-maintained special schools) and nursery schools are not eligible.
Funder's page · PE and sport premium guidance for primary schools (GOV.UK) · Parent page last updated 24 September 2026; accessed 14 Oct 2026
Devolved Formula Capital (DFC) Expected 2027
- Intention
- Capital funding allocated by formula for individual schools and other eligible institutions to spend on capital projects.
- Total pot
- not published on the guidance page
- Award
- £4,000 fixed sum per institution plus £11.25 per weighted pupil (2026 to 2027); VA schools get a further 8% uplift. Example in guidance: 800 weighted pupils gives £13,000, or £14,040 for a VA school.
- Match funding
- not stated
- Who applies
- school (formula allocation, no application); can be pooled with the responsible body's agreement
- When
- Annual formula allocation; 2026 to 2027 amounts updated 14 May 2026
School types
- Mainstream primary Yes
- Mainstream secondary Yes
- Special Conditional
- Independent No
- Academies and free schools No
- AP and PRUs Conditional
Mainstream primary: yes: allocated to individual schools and other eligible institutions; Mainstream secondary: yes: as primary; Special: conditional: special pupil numbers weighted x4.5 in the methodology; AP and PRUs: conditional: PRU/AP pupil numbers weighted x4.5 in the methodology
What to highlight when applying
- No bid needed: allocations are published in a spreadsheet.
- Schools decide how to use it, with pooling possible with the responsible body's agreement.
- Nursery pupils are counted using entitlement hours (PTEs x 0.6).
Rate status: 2026 to 2027 rate; 2027 to 2028 not yet published
Note: Rates are from the methodology PDF linked from the gov.uk page. Evidence quote is as reported from the PDF; confirm exact wording. Academy eligibility for DFC not confirmed in the pages read.
Funder's page · School capital funding - GOV.UK (with Condition funding methodology and spend guidance PDF) · Updated 14 May 2026 / 25 March 2026
Key dates
Confirmed deadlines from the funders' own pages. Add them all to your calendar (one .ics file, with a reminder a week before each), or see everything on the School Funding Hub.
- 20 October 2026, 5pm: CREST Engage funding: autumn round closes (State primary and secondary; UK-wide)
- 4 November 2026: British Science Week funding: applications close (Schools and community groups; UK-wide)
- 11 November 2026, 12 noon: Paul Hamlyn Teacher Development Fund: deadline (Primary school as lead, with 6 to 10 state schools; UK-wide)
- 27 November 2026: DofE Resilience Fund: first window closes (DofE licensed schools; UK-wide)
- 30 November 2026: Royal Society Partnership Grants: final 2026 deadline (Primary and secondary; UK-wide)
- 30 November 2026, 12 noon: Music for All Schools and Community Groups Awards: Round 4 closes (Schools; UK-wide)
- 5 January 2027: Wolfson special schools and colleges: Round 1 Stage 1 deadline (opens 20 Nov) (Special schools and colleges; UK-wide)
- 6 January 2027: Active Spaces Fund: full application deadline (London boroughs only)
- 13 January 2027, 4pm: Be Active Wales Fund: window 3 full application (EOI by 9am 8 Jan) (Wales)
- 31 January 2027: Creating Opportunities Phase 3 closes (end of January, or sooner if funds run out) (Northern Ireland)
- 26 February 2027: DofE Resilience Fund second window and Additional Needs Delivery Support Fund close (DofE licensed schools incl. special schools; UK-wide)
- 1 March 2027: Wolfson special schools and colleges: Round 1 Stage 2 deadline (Special schools and colleges; UK-wide)
- 24 March 2027: Active Spaces Fund: full application deadline (London boroughs only)
- 1 April 2027, 5pm: sportscotland Sport Facilities Fund: deadline (Scotland)
- 1 May 2027: Holiday Activities and Food: 2026 to 2027 expenditure certificate due (Local authorities (schools as providers); England)
- 1 July 2027: Wolfson special schools and colleges: Round 2 Stage 1 deadline (opens 14 May) (Special schools and colleges; UK-wide)
- 7 July 2027: Active Spaces Fund: full application deadline (London boroughs only)
- 31 July 2027: PE and sport premium 2026 to 2027: spend by this date (no roll-over) (Primary, incl. non-maintained special; England)
Watch list (expected, no firm date yet):
- Nov 2026: Erasmus+ (UK rejoining from 2027): first call expected to open; deadlines Feb or Mar 2027
- Nov 2026: Olympic Legacy Fund (NI): second £1m tranche
- Jan 2027: Woodland Trust free trees (England, Scotland, Wales): applications expected to close
- Jan 2027: Ernest Cook Trust Outdoor Essentials: round anticipated
- Jan 2027: Variety equipment grants: expected to reopen
- Jan 2027: Royal Society of Chemistry Outreach Fund: 2027 timelines due
- Jan to Mar 2027: Local School Nature Grants: the 2026 round ran 12 Jan to 13 Mar; 2027 dates not yet published
- Feb 2027: Artsmark: redeveloped award due to open
- Early 2027: Grow Wild Youth Grants: 2027 round expected
- Spring 2027: Wolfson state secondary schools: next round details
- Spring 2027: 2027 to 2028 rates: PE and sport premium, pupil premium, capital allocations. We refresh the guide when they land.
The reference list: all 88 routes
Every funding route in the School Funding Guide 2027, by purpose, with the typical award and its 2027 status. Each name links to the funder's own page. Sign up free to unlock the full guide, which adds each funder's intention, total pot, match funding, which school types can apply (mainstream primary, mainstream secondary, special, independent, academies, AP) and what to highlight when you apply, with search and a school-type filter.
Playgrounds, play and outdoor learning
- National Education Nature Park grant funding (DfE, delivered with the RHS) (Department for Education, with the Royal Horticultural Society, England): Up to £5,000 per eligible setting. Open
- National Lottery Awards for All England (The National Lottery Community Fund, England): £300 to £20,000, projects up to 2 years. Open
- Woodland Trust free trees for schools and communities (England, Scotland and Wales) (Woodland Trust, England, Scotland, Wales): Free packs of 15, 30, 105 or 420 saplings (20 to 60 cm tall). Open
- National Lottery Awards for All England: Environment (The National Lottery Community Fund, England): £300 to £20,000; maximum £20,000 in total from the programme in any 12-month period. Rolling
- Small Eco Awards (Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales) (The National Lottery Community Fund, Scotland, Northern Ireland, Wales): £300 to £20,000; up to 24 months to spend the money. Rolling
- Grow Wild Youth Grants (Grow Wild (Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew), UK-wide): £500 per project. Expected 2027
- Local School Nature Grants (Learning through Landscapes, funded by players of Postcode Lottery through the Postcode trusts, England, Scotland, Wales): Up to £500 of equipment from a catalogue, plus a staff training session of up to half a d…. Expected 2027
- Woodland Trust free tree packs (Northern Ireland) (Woodland Trust, Northern Ireland): Free packs of 30 or 105 saplings (20 to 60 cm tall). Check
Buildings, capital and energy
- Devolved Formula Capital (DFC) (Department for Education, England): £4,000 fixed sum per institution plus £11.25 per weighted pupil (2026 to 2027). Expected 2027
- Garfield Weston Foundation (capital and project grants) (Garfield Weston Foundation, UK-wide): No upper limit stated. Rolling
- Great British Energy solar for schools (Great British Energy and the Department for Education, England): not stated per school. Expected 2027
- School Condition Allocations (SCA) (Department for Education, England): Formula allocation, no bid. Expected 2027
- Wolfson Foundation: secondary schools and sixth form colleges (The Wolfson Foundation, UK-wide): £15,000 minimum to £100,000 maximum. Expected 2027
- Wolfson Foundation: special schools and colleges (The Wolfson Foundation, UK-wide): Minimum £25,000; usual range £40,000 to £75,000. Capital costs at least £50,000 and capit…. Expected 2027
- Condition Improvement Fund (CIF) (Department for Education, England): Primary and special schools: £20,000 minimum, £4,000,000 maximum. Check
- Northern Ireland school capital works and minor works (Department of Education (Northern Ireland) and Education Authority, Northern Ireland): Most schools receive 100% grant funding for capital works. Check
- Public Sector Decarbonisation Scheme Phase 4 (Department for Energy Security and Net Zero, delivered by Salix Finance, England): not stated. Check
- Sustainable Communities for Learning: capital maintenance funding (Welsh Government, Wales): Allocated to local authorities. Check
- Learning Estate Investment Programme (LEIP) (Scottish Government, Scotland): not stated per project. Closed
- Renewal and Retrofit Programme (Department for Education, England): not stated. Closed
- School Rebuilding Programme (Department for Education, England): not stated (whole-building projects). Closed
ICT and digital
- National Centre for Computing Education: Computing Hubs CPD (Department for Education (delivered via Teach Computing / STEM Learning), England): Free courses. Rolling
- Connect the Classroom (Department for Education, England): Wifi access points, network switches and installation funded. Expected 2027
- Schools Gigabit Broadband (Department for Education, England): No per-school amount stated. Expected 2027
PE, sport and physical activity
- PE and sport premium for primary schools (Department for Education, England): 2026 to 2027: schools with 17 or more eligible pupils receive £6240 plus £10 per pupil. Ending
- Active Spaces Fund (London Marathon Foundation, England (London boroughs only)): Typically £10,000 to £80,000 (contact the Foundation first to apply for more than £80,000). Open
- Be Active Wales Fund (Sport Wales (National Lottery funded), Wales): £300 to £50,000 (up to 90% of cost for awards of £300 to £25,000; up to 80% for £25,001 t…. Open
- Creating Opportunities (Phase 3, 2026/27) (Sport Northern Ireland, with Crowdfunder UK (National Lottery funded), Northern Ireland): Up to 65% (75% in areas of greatest need or rural areas) match funding, up to a maximum o…. Open
- FAGE LTA Youth Schools (school tennis programme with £250 reward voucher) (Lawn Tennis Association (LTA), with FAGE, not stated on page): £250 reward voucher per school, spendable on school tennis equipment or 10 hours of team …. Open
- Olympic Legacy Fund 2026/27 (Sport Northern Ireland, with Crowdfunder UK, Northern Ireland): Crowdfunding campaigns of £5,000 to £50,000; Sport NI contributes 65% and the crowd 35%. Open
- Sport Facilities Fund (sportscotland, Scotland): Up to 50% of eligible costs. Open
- Football Foundation small-sided facility improvement and grass pitch grants (Football Foundation (funded by the Premier League, The FA and Government), England): Up to £25,000 for small-sided pitch improvement and for grass pitch grants, not exceeding…. Rolling
- Movement Fund (Sport England, England): Grants or pledges from £300 to £15,000; projects can run for up to 12 months. Rolling
- PE and School Sport Partnerships Network (Department for Education, England): Support, not a cash grant to schools. Expected 2027
- Active Schools network (sportscotland, in partnership with all 32 Scottish local authorities, Scotland): not applicable (funds local authority Active Schools managers and coordinators, over 400 …. Check
- National Lottery Awards for All Scotland (sport projects) (The National Lottery Community Fund, with sportscotland, Scotland): £300 to £10,000. Check
- Go! London Foundation funding (Go! London (partnership of the Mayor of London, Sport England, London Marathon Events and others), England (London)): Grants of up to £40,000 (homepage). Closed
Maths and STEM
- CREST Engage funding (Engage grant and Engage Simply CREST) (British Science Association, UK-wide): Engage Grant: £350 plus voucher for up to £350 of CREST fees. Open
- Advanced Mathematics Support Programme (AMSP) (Department for Education (led and delivered by MEI), England): Support in kind. Rolling
- ENTHUSE bursaries for science CPD / STEM Learning subsidies (STEM Learning (Project ENTHUSE) with DfE guidance, UK-wide): amounts not stated. Rolling
- Maths Hubs school development programmes (Teaching for Mastery, Mastering Number, SKTM and others) (NCETM / Maths Hubs Programme (funded by DfE), England): No £ amounts stated. Rolling
- Primary Mastery Specialist Programme (release time funded) (NCETM / Maths Hubs (DfE funded), England): 10 funded release days in year 1; year 2 days agreed with the Maths Hub, subject to DfE f…. Expected 2027
- Royal Society Partnership Grants (incl. Tomorrow's Climate Scientists) (The Royal Society, UK-wide (incl. Channel Islands and Isle of Man)): up to £3,000 per project. Expected 2027
- Royal Society of Chemistry Outreach Fund (Royal Society of Chemistry, UK-wide (and Republic of Ireland)): not stated on page. Expected 2027
- Secondary Mastery Specialist Programme (release time funded) (NCETM / Maths Hubs (DfE funded), England): Maths Hub funds the lead teacher's release: 7.5 days in 2026/27 and 7.5 days in 2027/28. Expected 2027
- Chemistry Teaching Empowerment Fund (Royal Society of Chemistry, UK-wide (and Ireland)): £600 towards a collaborative project or event, including planning time. Check
- Primary Science Teaching Empowerment Fund (Royal Society of Chemistry, UK and Ireland): up to £600 per school per academic year, of which up to £300 for teaching cover. Check
- Ogden Trust School Partnerships programme (The Ogden Trust, not stated): amounts not stated. Closed
Reading, libraries and literacy
- Libraries for Primaries 2026-27 (expression of interest) (National Literacy Trust (Penguin Random House named as partner), UK-wide): Schools receive training, learning resources, books and furniture rather than a cash grant. Open
- Foyle School Library Scheme (Foyle Foundation, UK-wide): not stated. Closed
Arts, music and culture
- Have a Go Fund (Creative Learning Cymru) (Arts Council of Wales, Wales): Up to £1,500. Open
- Music for All Schools and Community Groups Awards (Round 4, 2026) (Music for All, UK-wide): Instrument awards: 5 electro guitars, up to 12 acoustic guitars, up to 30 ukuleles, up to…. Open
- Youth Music Initiative: School Based Music Making (Formula Fund) and Access to Music Making (Creative Scotland (for the Scottish Government), Scotland): Formula Fund: allocations to local authorities and Jordanhill School. Open
- Arts Council England National Lottery Project Grants (Arts Council England, England): Requests from £1,000 to £100,000. Rolling
- Go and See Fund (Creative Learning Cymru) (Arts Council of Wales, Wales): Up to £1,000 per application. Rolling
- Artsmark Award (redeveloped, opens February 2027) (Arts Council England (delivered with Goldsmiths, University of London for CPD), England): Cost to school: £500, or £250 for schools with 100 pupils or fewer (current published fee. Expected 2027
- Creative Learning Cymru programme (to March 2028) (Arts Council of Wales with Welsh Government, Wales): not stated. Expected 2027
Languages, international and enrichment
- Cairngorms National Park Outdoor Learning Travel Grant (Cairngorms National Park Authority, Scotland): Up to 75% of transport costs, up to £300 per trip (the scheme page says £300; the downloa…. Rolling
- Erasmus+ (UK participation from 2027): school mobility and partnerships (British Council / Erasmus+ UK National Agency (programme site erasmusplus.org.uk); UK government announcement, UK-wide): Small-scale partnerships €30,000 or €60,000; co-operation partnerships €120,000, €250,000…. Expected 2027
- Ernest Cook Trust Outdoor Essentials Grant (Ernest Cook Trust, UK-wide): £500 for primary and special schools. Expected 2027
- Taith (Wales international learning exchange): Pathways 1 and 2 (Welsh Government, delivered by International Learning Exchange Programme Ltd (Cardiff University subsidiary), Wales): not stated on page fetched. Check
- Turing Scheme 2026-27 (final year; schools) (Department for Education / Turing Scheme (gov.uk), UK-wide): Up to £50,000 per school application. Closed
SEND and inclusion
- Access to Work (staff support) (Department for Work and Pensions (Jobcentre Plus), England, Scotland, Wales (Northern Ireland has a different system)): Grant of up to £69,260 a year (grants awarded or reviewed from 8 April 2024 onward, per c…. Rolling
- BBC Children in Need main grants (Project Costs and Core Costs) (BBC Children in Need, UK-wide (also Isle of Man and Channel Islands)): Up to £120,000 in total or £40,000 per year, up to three years. Rolling
- Sunshine Coaches (Variety, the Children's Charity, UK-wide (page does not limit nations; charity registered in England, Wales and Scotland)): Vehicle value not stated on page. Rolling
- Extended Schools Programme (Department of Education (Northern Ireland), Northern Ireland): Formula allocation by pupil numbers, not a bid. Expected 2027
- High needs provision capital allocations (HNPCA) (Department for Education, England): Per local authority allocation (published in a spreadsheet linked from the page. Expected 2027
- Strategic Equity Funding (Scottish Attainment Challenge) (Scottish Government, Scotland): Allocated to local authorities by Children in Low Income Families data (2019/20). Expected 2027
- Variety equipment grants (individual children) (Variety, the Children's Charity, UK-wide (children must be permanently resident in the UK)): not stated. Expected 2027
- RAISE Programme (Northern Ireland educational disadvantage) (Department of Education (Northern Ireland), Northern Ireland): Locality led projects: 65 projects worth £3.7m in the first tranche and 42 projects worth…. Check
Mental health and wellbeing
- Mental Health Support Teams in schools and colleges (Department for Education and NHS England, England): Not a grant: teams are commissioned through NHS, no school award. Expected 2027
- Asda Foundation Young Futures Fund (Asda Foundation, UK-wide (page does not state nations)): £500 to £1,000. Check
- Senior mental health lead training grant (Department for Education, England): Amount not stated on guidance page. Closed
Food, breakfast and holidays
- Free breakfast clubs (national rollout) (Department for Education, England): Mainstream (Sept 2026 to July 2027): £25 a day flat rate plus £1 per attending pupil per …. Open
- Holiday Activities and Food (HAF) programme (Department for Education (delivered by upper-tier local authorities), England): Allocated to 153 upper-tier local authorities. Open
- National breakfast club rollout (Scotland) (Scottish Government, Scotland): not stated. Expected 2027
- Holiday Grants (Henry Smith Foundation) (Henry Smith Foundation, UK-wide (also Isle of Man and Channel Islands)): £500 to £3,000 per trip. Check
- Tesco Stronger Starts (Tesco (administered by Groundwork), UK-wide (Tesco store communities)): Up to £1,500. Check
Community, PTA and general grants
- National Lottery Awards for All (Scotland) (The National Lottery Community Fund, Scotland): £300 to £20,000 for community-led projects up to 2 years. Open
- Aviva Foundation Communities Fund (Aviva Foundation, UK-wide): Up to £25,000 match funding per calendar year. Rolling
- Halifax Foundation NI: Community FLEX (PTA route) (Halifax Foundation for Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland): 12-month grant. Rolling
- Local community foundations (UK Community Foundations network) (UK Community Foundations and local community foundations, UK-wide (Community Foundation Wales, Foundation Scotland and Community Foundation Northern Ireland cover those nations)): Average about £5,500 per grant in 2024-25 (network average). Rolling
- Morrisons Foundation: Connecting Communities grants (Morrisons Foundation, England, Scotland, Wales): Up to £20,000 (maximum for the Connecting Communities programme). Rolling
- National Lottery Awards for All Northern Ireland (The National Lottery Community Fund, Northern Ireland): £300 to £20,000 for projects lasting up to 2 years. Rolling
- Reaching Communities England (The National Lottery Community Fund, England): £20,001 to £1,000,000 for projects lasting up to 5 years. Rolling
- Co-op Local Community Fund (Co-op, UK-wide): not stated. Check
- Postcode Community Trust (Wales) and Local School Nature Grants (Postcode Community Trust (Postcode Lottery players); Local School Nature Grants run by Learning through Landscapes, Wales (main Trust); Local School Nature Grants: England, Scotland and Wales): Main Trust: up to £50,000 over three years (not exceeding 75% of annual income). Check
- Rule: when a PTA or registered charity must apply instead of the school (Charity Commission (registration threshold) and individual funders (eligibility rules), England and Wales (registration rule); funder rules vary): not applicable. Check
Takeaways
- Match the money to the job: sport money can't buy capital; check the rule before the catalogue.
- Some of the biggest money has no application form (connectivity, solar, the new PE network): be visible and have your data ready.
- Give each funder exactly what it asks for, and don't start work before it decides.
Amounts and deadlines change: check the funder's own page. Both voices on the show are synthesised; the research, reading and judgement are done by a serving practitioner. Not financial advice.
Episode notes and sources
Show the episode notes
The PE and sport premium can't buy a single plank of a playground climbing frame. This bonus episode works through five shopping lists, playgrounds, buildings, technology, PE and sport, and maths and science, and for every pot of money asks what the funder wants, how much there is, which schools can apply (mainstream, special, independent) and what to highlight when you apply.
What's covered
• The Number: £6,240 plus £10 per pupil, the 2026 to 2027 PE and sport premium, which DfE calls transitional funding. It cannot fund capital, including fixed playground equipment.
• What replaces it: £530 million for a new PE and School Sport Partnerships Network (UK Parliament written answer, 17 July 2026).
• Playgrounds: devolved formula capital, Local School Nature Grants, Awards for All's community rule, and what Wolfson won't fund.
• Buildings: who bids to the Condition Improvement Fund; Wolfson's state secondary programme; solar.
• Technology: Connect the Classroom and Gigabit Broadband. DfE contacts schools; there is no bid.
• Maths and science: Maths Hubs release time, Royal Society Partnership Grants (up to £3,000, by 30 November) and CREST Engage (closes 20 October).
• Special and independent schools, and when a PTA is the applicant.
Actions for consideration
• Check this year's devolved formula capital before the playground catalogue goes round.
• Spend the PE premium by 31 July 2027, and gather inactivity and swimming data for the new network.
• Read each funder's rules for your school type before you write a bid.
The guide
The School Funding Guide 2027: 73 funding routes in 12 categories, with each funder's intention, the money available, eligibility by school type and what to highlight. Two entries are free on the episode page; the full guide unlocks with the free newsletter at theeducationcommute.co.uk. Most 2027 to 2028 rates are not yet published; we'll refresh the guide when they are.
Sources
Department for Education: PE and sport premium guidance (24 September 2026), School capital funding, Condition Improvement Fund, Connect the Classroom, Schools Gigabit Broadband. UK Parliament written answer UIN 16974. Learning through Landscapes, National Lottery Community Fund, Wolfson Foundation, Sport England, NCETM, the Royal Society, British Science Association, BBC Children in Need, Asda Foundation. Full links on the episode page.
Both voices on this show are synthesised; the research, reading and judgement are done by a serving practitioner. Amounts and deadlines change: check the funder's own page. Not financial advice.
Strand: Leaders
Free printable one-pagers for this episode, one for staff and one for parents and carers.
Get the free newsletters · Listen on RSS.com · Watch on YouTube
Full transcript
Read the transcript
I want to start with a catalog. It's glossy, about 40 pages, and it lands in every single primary school in October. Right. I know the exact one. You've got climbing frames, trim trails, and a pirate ship with a slide off the back. Yeah, that catalog is literally sitting on my desk right now. I bet it is. Well, because I'm the P.E. lead, it seems like everyone in the staff room just naturally assumes the P.E. money buys that pirate ship. Yeah. You see the glossy pictures and then you think, you know, my budget is just waiting to be spent on that massive slide.
But, I mean, does it actually buy the pirate ship? Well, look, that is the money for sport, isn't it? OK. It is literally called the P.E. and sport premium. So logically, physical activity on a pirate ship should count. You would think so. You would really would. But here's where we hit a massive brick wall. Oh, no. Yeah. The guidance from the Department for Education for this year explicitly lists what you absolutely cannot spend it on. Right. And at the very top of that list, capital expenditure.
And the specific examples the Department for Education gives are multi-use games areas, active mile tracks, trim trails for school environments and, yes, fixed playground equipment, which means not one single plank of that pirate ship can be bought with my sports budget. Not one single plank. Wow. Yeah. And here is the other sobering reality on that page. OK. Lay it on me. For twenty twenty six to twenty seven, a school with 17 or more eligible pupils gets a transitional funding amount of exactly six thousand two hundred and forty pounds plus ten pounds per pupil.
Wait, six thousand two hundred and forty. Yeah. Let's just let's just sit with that number for a second. It's not a lot. And remember, the page calls it transitional funding. Transitional. OK. Hold on to that word. OK. We will come back to it. This is the Education Commute. And just a quick one time note for you listening. Both voices on the show are synthesized, but the judgment isn't. Right. And this is our second bonus look at the money. Yes, it is. Now, the first time we sat down, we talked about the money schools are already entitled to, you know, but somehow forget to claim.
Exactly. But today is entirely different. This is the other kind of money, the harder kind. Yeah. The funds you have to actively go out and hunt down for a specific job. Right. So we are looking at playgrounds, laptops and Wi-Fi, PE, maths and science. Exactly. And so I'm in the business manager's chair again, looking at the structural finances. And I am in the chair of the person who somehow ends up writing all the bids simply because nobody else will step up. Oh, every single school has one.
Yeah. Usually it's whoever made the catastrophic mistake of cash really mentioning in the staff room. You know, I quite like writing the worst mistake you can make. It really is. Suddenly you're giving up your Sundays to beg for a climbing frame. Yep. So what is our strategy here to avoid wasting all those weekends? OK, here is the deal. For every single pot of money we look at, we are going to ask four core questions. OK, four questions. First, what is the funder actually trying to achieve?
Right. Second, how much money is actually there? Important. Third, which kinds of school are eligible to apply? You know, mainstream primary, mainstream secondary, special, independent. Yeah. And fourth, what do they explicitly want to see when you submit that application? But what happens when we look at the guidance and the page is just totally blank on one of those questions? Because it does happen. It happens all the time. Well, when that happens, we will strictly say doesn't say. OK. And my absolute strongest advice to you is to ask the funder directly before you spend an entire weekend drafting a bid based on a total assumption.
Yeah, that makes sense. So we have five specific shopping lists to walk through today. Let's do it. We'll start outside with playgrounds and outdoor learning. Nice. Then we'll walk into the buildings and energy. Next, technology down to the gym for PE and sport. And finally, maths and science. Great. Then we'll have a crucial word on special and independent schools because the rules shift for them much more than people realize. OK, let's start the walkthrough. Step one, we are outside shopping list one, the playground. Right. So if we are looking at the playground, you have to start with the money you already have in the bank.
Really? Yes, because it is the one pot most people completely forget about. Devolved formula capital. Ah, OK. It is allocated by formula to individual schools in England. So no weekend writing bids? Exactly. There is no bid to write. The methodology from the Department for Education for 2026 to 27 is exactly this. It's four thousand pounds plus eleven pounds twenty five per weighted pupil. Right. And connecting the dots from our earlier definition, this is capital money. It is capital, which is exactly the word that ruled the PE premium out earlier.
Ah, got it. The guidance clearly states it is for individual schools to spend on capital projects. So this is the home of the pirate ship? Yes. If that permanent structure is going to exist anywhere, it lives in the capital budget, not my sport budget. Precisely. That is the very first thing you need to check. OK. Before you write a passionate plea to a charity, just ask your business manager what the devolved formula capital is for this year. And crucially, whether the roof or the boiler has already spoken for it.
And if it is spoken for, because let's be honest, the boiler usually wins. Usually does. Well, if the capital is gone, then the next door you try should be outdoor learning rather than fixed play structures. OK. Like what? Learning through landscapes runs local school nature grants. Interesting. Yeah, you can get up to 500 pounds of equipment from a catalog plus a staff training session. Let's be realistic, though. Up to 500 pounds isn't going to buy a pirate ship. No, it absolutely isn't. But look at what the funder is trying to achieve.
Right. Back to the questions. Exactly. It is for practical lesson kit. It buys planters, shelters, tools, you know, the essential gear that takes a muddy field and makes it actually usable for a science or a geography lesson. That is useful. Yeah. And a warning on this, the timing really matters. The 2026 round ran from January to March. No 2027 dates are published yet. So you should put a reminder in your calendar for early January. OK, early January noted. But what about the national lottery? Ah, yes.
Because every time a school needs a big playground, someone at the PTA meeting always says, why don't we just try the lottery? It is a very common thought. National Lottery Awards for all England gives 300 to 20,000 pounds. See, that sounds fantastic. It does. But you need to read the school rule incredibly carefully. They say they can only fund schools if the project mainly benefits the wider community. Ah, OK, I see where this is going. Yeah. So if I want to pitch a brand new playground just for our pupils to use during break time.
Their page specifically lists improvements to school buildings, outdoor areas and equipment as things they cannot pay for. Wow, OK. What they give is a fundable example is using school facilities for community activity outside school hours. So a successful bid means the local community uses our space on Saturday mornings, not our year fours need a new climbing frame. Exactly. And to be fair to them, they are completely honest about it. True. If your plan is truly just about your pupils during the school day, do not try to dress it up and trick them.
They will see right through it. Right. Don't waste their time or yours. Exactly. What about special schools? Because sensory play is an incredibly obvious and vital need there. It is. So for that, you want to look at the Wolfson Foundation, which runs a capital program specifically for special schools and colleges. OK, the amounts are substantial. We're talking minimum twenty five thousand forty to seventy five thousand. Wow, that is substantial. It is. But here is the crucial detail. Their own page says playgrounds and play equipment, including sensory play, are not funded.
Wait, really? Really. See, knowing that just saved me an entire weekend of writing a beautiful, emotionally resonant bid for sensory play that was doomed from the very first sentence. Yes, that is exactly the point of doing this analysis. Finding the no is just as useful as finding the yes. Absolutely. All right. Let's step off the playground and move inside shopping list to the building itself. OK, the big player here is the Condition Improvement Fund or CIF. CIF, right. The intention here is urgent condition work. We are talking about failing roofs, broken boilers, urgent safety issues.
The glamorous stuff. Exactly. And who actually writes the bid depends entirely on who you belong to. How do you mean? Well, if your trust has five or more schools and at least three thousand pupils, it gets school condition allocations by a formula and does not bid. Oh, nice. But if you are an academy in a smaller trust, a sixth form college or a voluntary aided school, you have to bid. OK, so if I'm the one stuck writing that bid for a leaky roof, what do they actually want to see from me?
They want absolute undeniable evidence that the problem is real and urgent. OK, what counts as evidence? You need independent survey reports, fully named and dated. You need a clear, realistic cost. You need a project plan. That sounds intense. It is. And be aware, the Gov. UK page was last updated in May and it doesn't announce a twenty twenty seven to twenty eight round. Oh. So if your trust is the one bidding, you should watch that page closely from the autumn rather than just assuming the dates will roll over.
OK, good tip. Well, let's talk about energy because I keep hearing these fantastic rumors in the staff room about free solar panels. Is that real? Great British Energy's Solar Partnership for Schools is indeed real. And it is funded by the government. Oh, wow. Back in July, the department announced 100 more schools joining and a pilot with 150 more. That's amazing. How do we apply? Well, listen carefully. The announcement describes no application process whatsoever. Oh, if you want to know whether those panels are coming to your roof, you need to ask your trust or your local authority.
Oh, that is actually a huge relief. Right. So that is a check. Don't be situation. I don't have to write anything. Exactly. Love it. Don't bet. Now, staying inside the building, let's bring up the Wolfson Foundation again. But this time, their secondary program. OK. They offer fifteen thousand to one hundred thousand for new build, refurbishment or equipment in very specific subjects, which subjects science, computing, design and technology, art, languages and music. And which types of schools can go after this one? State funded secondary schools and sixth form colleges.
Just state funded. Yes, their page says state funded only. So independent schools cannot apply for this one. Got it. The twenty twenty six round has already closed and they expect to publish the next one in spring twenty twenty seven. OK, so give me the inside track here. Any specific tips for the Wolfson secondary program? Yes. Three specific tips straight from their page. Let's hear them first. Have your planning permission already in place or take professional advice. Makes sense. Second, show exactly how you will close any funding gap if their grant doesn't cover the whole bill.
OK. And third, grants are not backdated. If the work is finished before they make their decision, you cannot be funded. Oh, man, that last one catches so many people out. It really does. We've all been there. You know, the head teacher gets impatient. They want the scaffolding up before open evening. You start to work early and boom, you instantly lose the grant. You spent weeks applying for. Exactly. Patience pays off. Yep. Now let's walk down the hall and peek into the I.T. suite shopping list three technology laptops.
It is always laptops. I knew you were going to say that. I can tell you right now, every teacher in the staff room thinks there is a magical government laptop tree we can just shake. Every school I know desperately wants a massive influx of devices. Well, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this is actually the shortest list we have because the government money simply isn't for individual devices. Really? Really. There are two main programs from the Department for Education. Connect the classroom pays for Wi-Fi access points, network switches and installation, OK, and schools.
Gigabit broadband gets a fiber connection to schools that cannot get one commercially. So it's infrastructure. Exactly. Both of these are paid from a single three hundred and twenty five million connectivity budget for the years leading up to 2030. OK, fine. No laptops. But we desperately need better Wi-Fi anyway. How do I apply for that connectivity budget? You don't wait what? Both of those pages state clearly that the department contacts eligible schools directly. Oh, connect the classroom is aimed squarely at schools that fall below the department's Wi-Fi standards and gigabit is aimed at schools that literally have no commercial option available to them.
So if I can't apply, what can I actually do? Just sit and hope the phone rings? Well, your action item here is to thoroughly know your own network. OK. If your school's Wi-Fi does not meet the standard, make absolutely sure your trust or your local authority knows it. Right. Because that is how you eventually end up on the department's radar. Oh, I see. And as for the devices themselves, the laptops have to come back to your capital budget or to specific subject funders. Like who? Well, the Wolfson Secondary Program we just mentioned lists computer science equipment as an option, for example.
Well, I really had assumed there would be some massive national laptop fund waiting for us. I looked everywhere on the funders own pages. I could not find a single national cash grant for school laptops that is open in 2027. Good to know. If somebody out there is selling you one, demand to see the funders official page. Absolutely. All right. Let's walk down to my domain. The gym shopping list for PE and sport. Right. So let's look back to that specific word from the very beginning. Transitional.
Yes, you mentioned that. The guidance for this year pays the PE and sport premium in one single payment. And it has to be spent by the 31st of July, 2027. OK. You cannot roll it over and you cannot pay in advance for next year services or subscriptions. See, as a PE lead, that makes me incredibly nervous. Why just one payment? What happens after July? Well, it's one payment because the premium is being replaced. Replaced. Yeah. In a written answer to parliament on the 17th of July, 2026, the department stated it is investing over one billion in PE and school sport over three years.
A billion? Yes. That includes 530 million specifically for a new PE and school sport partnerships network. OK. A billion sounds amazing. But what does this new network actually give my school? Do I get a check? No. The written answer describes support rather than a check support. What does that mean? We are talking about coaching, swimming, provision and help opening your facilities. Oh, it outlines a universal offer to all primary and secondary schools, plus targeted support specifically for those who need it most. The finer detail of all this is being confirmed through procurement right now.
Let me process this. So the money stops arriving in my school's bank account and instead starts arriving as support. Yes, that's exactly how the answer describes it. So you have two immediate practical things to do. OK, what are they? First, spend this year's remaining premium incredibly well on the five areas, the guidance names, right? Starting with building your staff's confidence, knowledge and skills. Makes sense. And the second. Second. Get your data ready now. Data. Yes. Who is your least active pupil? Who isn't yet meeting the swimming requirement?
Oh, I see. If targeted support goes to the areas of greatest need, you will want to have the data to show yours. That's really smart. Just to confirm, though, who is actually eligible for the premium itself right now? Most schools with primary age pupils, including special schools and pupil referral units. OK, the guidance specifically excludes nursery schools, university technical colleges and independent schools, with the exception of non-maintained special schools. Got it. What about stepping outside of government? Can I get cash from Sport England? Well, there is Sport England's Movement Fund, which ranges from 300 to 15000.
OK, that's a good range. It is. Their core intention is to get less active people moving. But and this is crucial. Their page doesn't say whether a school can apply directly. Doesn't say. Right. So you should ring their helpline before you start typing. It may be that your local community sports club has to be the one that applies with your school simply acting as the venue. Good to know. OK, let's walk out of the gym and head over to the science labs shopping list five, Maths and Science.
All right. So some of the absolute most valuable money in this section isn't cash at all. No, no, it is release time. Oh, wow. Yeah, time is money in a school. The Maths Hub's mastery specialist programs actually fund the time. That is huge. The primary programs information sheet says the Maths Hub will fund 10 days release in the first year. The secondary program funds seven and a half days a year for two years. I can tell you from the trenches. Release time is the single hardest thing to get approved.
The fact that it's funded is incredible. Which is exactly why it is worth so much more than it looks on paper. Definitely. But heed the tip from the information sheets. The head teacher has to fully understand the commitment and the entire school has to be ready to develop mastery across the board, not just isolated in one single classroom. Right. It's a whole school thing. But what if I have a science teacher who is begging for actual cash for an experiment? Then you point them to the Royal Society's partnership grants.
OK. It offers up to three thousand for a school to work alongside a scientist or engineer on a real investigation. That sounds amazing. It is. The final 2026 deadline for that is the 30th of November. OK, so if I'm writing that bid, what actually wins? Well, their guidance is unusually specific, which is great. I love specific. They want one research project, not a scattered series of disconnected activities. And the title of the project should be phrased as a question. A question. OK. Furthermore, the active involvement of your scientist or engineer counts double in their scoring matrix.
So you need to plan a real meaningful time with them. Good to know. And priority goes to schools that are totally new to the scheme and those in the greatest need. But what are the options for a school that doesn't just have an engineer or a scientist on speed dial? Fair point. For them, there is Crest Engage, run by the British Science Association. OK, how much is that? It is a smaller grant of three hundred and fifty pounds, plus a voucher towards the Crest Award fees.
But it has strict criteria. Like what? It is for state funded schools meeting at least one of three things. High economic disadvantage, a high proportion of ethnic minority pupils or a remote or rural location. OK. Independent schools are completely excluded. Except for independent special schools. And take note, the autumn round closes at five o'clock on the 20th of October 2026. Wait, the 20th of October 2026, that is next week. It is indeed, which is exactly why I said it out loud. OK. Noted. Urgency is high on that one.
Is there anything specifically for sixth form maths? There is the Advanced Mathematics Support Program. But again, this is support rather than actual cash. Right. It is for state funded schools and colleges in England. And the goal is simply to get more students taking core maths and further maths. OK. Earlier on, you mentioned that special and independent schools need their own specific work. They absolutely do. If you are a special school, a few doors swing wide open that are firmly shut to everyone else. Such as? There is the Wolfson Special Schools Program, starting at twenty five thousand pounds and going up specifically for buildings and equipment.
Excellent. There's also BBC Children in Need, which explicitly does not fund mainstream schools, academies or pupil referral units. Oh, OK. But their page says a special school that is also a registered charity may apply for project costs. And what about the independent schools? It is mostly closed doors on the government side for them. Really? Yeah. They get no PE and sport premium unless they are a non-maintained special school. The Wolfson Secondary Program is state funded only. Crest Engage is state funded only. Wow. And when you look at a lot of the charitable trusts, the page simply doesn't say.
Doesn't say again. Exactly. In our guide, that is marked as not stated. And your only right move there is to email the funder first to clarify before doing any work. OK, I have to ask about the PTA trick because I've seen schools get funded that way. Let me stop you right there. It isn't a trick. It is just following the rules. Fair enough. Give me an example. Take the ASDA Foundation's Young Futures Fund, for example. It gives 500 to 1000 for teenagers' mental health and well-being.
OK. Its rules clearly state schools and academy trusts cannot apply. But PTAs and friends groups linked to secondary schools can. So the PTAs aren't just there to run a bake sale. Structurally, it acts as a second front door for the school to bring money in. For certain funders, yes. You have to read every single one's rules. All right. We've walked the whole school. If a weary bid writer remembers just three things from all of this, what should they be? OK, number one, match the money to the job.
Sport money cannot buy capital assets. Capital cannot pay teaching salaries. Check the structural rule before you even open the glossy catalog. Very wise. Number two. Number two. Some of the biggest pots of money out there don't even have an application form. Right. The check don't bid ones. Exactly. The connectivity programs, the solar panels, the new PE support network. For those, your job isn't to write a bid. Your job is to be visible and to have your data ready. Perfect. And number three. Number three. When a funder explicitly says what it wants, give it exactly that.
Don't get creative. Right. Give them one research question, not 10 random activities. Give them hard dated evidence, not emotive adjectives. And whatever you do, do not start the physical work before they decide to fund you. I've got two critical questions for the staff room tomorrow morning, then. Let's hear them. This is one for the business manager. OK, what is our devolved formula capital this year? And is any of it currently unallocated? Excellent. And for the PE lead, which is me, if the new network shifts away from cash and offers targeted support next year, what exact data would prove we desperately need it?
Both fantastic questions. And, you know, every single pot we mentioned today and more than 60 others is detailed in our school funding guide 2027. That's a lot of funding. It breaks down what each funder wants, exactly how much money there is, which school types can apply and what you need to highlight. So useful. It's on the website, the education commute dot co dot UK. And it unlocks with a free newsletter, which also tells you when we refresh the guide with next year's rates. And I should note that most of the 2027 to 28 figures aren't officially published yet, where that's the case.
The guide gives this year's figure and clearly says so. Fascinating. The money's not actually hidden, then. No, it isn't hidden. It's just sorted by what the funder wants to achieve, not by what we happen to want. Once you learn there's sorting logic, that glossy catalog on your desk finally starts to make sense. Safe trip in. See you at the gates.
More episodes
Newer: 'They Cannot Be Required To Do So': DfE's Line On Giving Medicines
Older: £1,550 A Head At Primary: The Pupil Premium Deadline On 31 December
All episodes